Community Council Elections

Kemnay Community Council


The following people have been elected to Kemnay Community Council

John W Whittall

Sasha Brydon

David L Carlin

Sue Wainman

Margaret E Basley

William A Blackwood

Frances Patrick

Claire G Stewart

Gaenor J Berkin

Next meeting of Kemnay Community Council, Friendship Room, Village Hall

7.30 pm, Thursday 28 June 2018


Nominations now open

Nominations are being sought to fill 15 vacancies on Kemnay Community Council.

Forms must be returned by 4 pm on Thursday, 7 June 2018, and an election will take place on Wednesday, 20 June 2018 in the Village Hall, Kemnay between 6pm and 8pm, if the nominees outnumber the spaces available.

The community council’s AGM will take place on Thursday, 28 June 2018 at 7.30 pm in Kemnay Village Hall.

Nomination forms are available from:-

Returning Officer: Margaret-Jane Cardno, Gordon House, Blackhall Road, Inverurie, AB51 3WA; and Locally from the Post Office, Library, Village Hall, A & G Collie (Butcher) and both Hairdressers. You can also download a form from this site or contact Kemnay Community Council Secretary to request one (see details below)

Contact: or 01467 530796

Download Nomination Form

Community Council Boundary

Community Council Constitution 2018

Community Council – More Information

Scheme of Establishment of Community Councils

Last Day for Delivery Of Nominations to Returning Officer

 No Later Than 4 p.m on Thursday 7th June 2018

The 3 year term of the Community Council is due to expire at the end of June 2018.  Nominations are now being sought for Councillors. In particular we need some enthusiastic applicants with new ideas willing to take on responsibility for developing and enhancing our village and improving the environment and community facilities.

Community Councils are voluntary bodies, which exist within a statutory framework, and which have been granted statutory rights of consultation.  The purpose of a Community Council is to ascertain, co-ordinate and express the views of the community within its boundaries, they can help ensure that Aberdeenshire Council is as fully informed as possible about the circumstances, needs and wishes of local communities. Further information on the duties, role and responsibilities of Community Councillors is contained in the Scheme of Establishment of Community Councils, which is available to view as shown below:

Aberdeenshire Council, Gordon House, Blackhall Road, Inverurie AB51 3WA

Aberdeenshire Council website

The Community Council is made up of volunteers from the village and or village businesses.   Apart from the Secretary who can receive an honorarium, there is no payment for serving on the Council although certain categories of expenses are reimbursed.   The Council meets on the last Thursday of every month except for the months of July, August and December and meetings usually last from 7.30pm to 9.30pm.

The meetings, which are friendly and non political, are usually attended by the Aberdeenshire Councillors and the Police, subjects discussed can be found in the current Agenda or copies of past Minutes but cover such matters as planning applications (for which we are Statutory Consultees), new housing developments, Local Development Plan, crime, vandalism, speeding, litter, dog poo, environmental issues, village initiatives, bus services, Christmas trees and Christmas lights, in fact just about anything to do with where YOU live … KEMNAY!


To be eligible to be a Community Councillor, individuals must:

  1. be aged 16 years or over, and
  2. reside in the area of the Community Council and be on the Electoral Register, or
  3. have had their ordinary or principle residence in the area of the Community Council for at least three months prior to nomination, and / or
  4. provided that the Community Council has a maximum of two places available for Community Councillors who do not reside in the Community Council Area but own a business in the Area of the Community Council (A Community Councillor who does not reside in the Community Area cannot be a serving community Councillor of another community council) and
  5. not be elected to serve on Aberdeenshire Council, or the Scottish, UK or European Parliaments.

If you would like to stand for election please complete and submit a Nomination form, which are available as follows:

1. Download a Nomination form from this website here

2. Use the Nomination form in the May Newsletter

3. Collect from Aberdeenshire Council or the Village Hall, Library, Post Office, Collies, Hair Shop or Coco’s

4. Email  to request a form.


Returning Officer
Margaret Jane Cardno
Garioch Area Manager
Aberdeenshire Council
Gordon House
Blackhall Road
AB51 3WB

Alternatively, completed forms can be scanned and submitted electronically to:

By no later than – 4 p.m on Thursday 7th June 2018